thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

Today, You Failed

2 Comments

English: Journalists in the Radio-Canada/CBC n...

English: Journalists in the Radio-Canada/CBC newsroom in Montreal, Canada. Français : Quelques journalistes et deux rédacteurs devant leur machine à écrire dans la salle des nouvelles de Radio-Canada/CBC à Montréal (Canada). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As a journalist, I work by a motto that both inspires and hinders my work.  I am to inform the people and not direct them.  I am to remain neutral throughout my writing at all costs, and and work towards my goal to inform my readers so that they can form an opinion or make a decision.  I have the power to influence decisions, but I should stray from gearing my articles to accomplish that.  It’s almost like the quote in Spiderman from Uncle Ben, “with great power comes great responsibility”.  I believe that all journalists should strive to accomplish this in their writing and reporting.

And now I say to my fellow journalists out there, you have failed at your job.  Yes, all of you.  I have watched reporter after reporter fail at their job for awhile now.  This includes National networks such as FoxNews, CNN and MSNBC.  Especially when the topic concerns the Affordable Care Act, aka Obamacare.  Since the law passed, reporters seem to feel that it is their job to influence public opinion either for it or against it.  I repeat, that is not your job.  You have forgotten what your job is.

The American public does not know how the law will affect them.  A typical person couldn’t tell you what changes the law would bring, except that the changes were good or bad.  Journalists, this is a failure on your part.  What would the professionals of old say?  What would Walter Cronkite or Dan Rather say?  If you want to insert your opinion, write a blog.

Journalists are supposed to be the eyes and ears of the people, not their voice.  Yes, it is difficult to keep your opinion from stories you are passionate about.  However, you are a professional.  Act like one.

This video probably helps explain my fury.

Which brings me to the next topic of my rant.  Politicians of the United States, you have failed.  You have failed to represent the people you serve.  Instead of representing the people, you seek a career and advantage from the position you hold.  If it were up to me, you would only be paid a minimal salary.  You should have to fundraise or work a side job in order to get by.  You shouldn’t be a career politician, you should seek office because you seek to help your community.  You have all failed America, Republican and Democrat.

I realize people will automatically believe that I am speaking towards the shutdown and the Tea Party, but I am not.  I believe in standing for something you believe in.  I do not believe in taking advantage of your status for your own gain when it comes to politics.

I do not believe the Founding Fathers intended for politicians to be the way they are today.  I do not believe your goal is to represent our communities.  I believe your goal is self gain.

Everyone should analyze their job and accomplish their mission.  Otherwise you have failed.  Not only have you failed the people who depend on you, but you have failed yourself.

 

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

2 thoughts on “Today, You Failed

  1. AMEN SISTER!!!! I agree with you 100000000000000000% (no clue how many zeros I used) 😛

    All of the major news networks have moments that make me what to scream, “This isn’t NEWS!! This is your opinion or that is how you feel!” which is very frustrating. Jon would be so happy you showed his clip. One of his biggest frustrations with the Political World is News stations doing anything but giving us the news. I have heard him say over and over again that there is no real need or use for a 24 hour news station, because most things don’t need to be covered that much. He says things like “9-11” should be, but thankful those sorts of events don’t happen that often.

    Did you know that CNN like most of the other big news networks doesn’t even have an “investigative journalism” department? That sort of reporting doesn’t seem to make money anymore. SAD!!!!

    Yes, our politicians have failed us all terribly. It is like watching a bunch of 5 year olds playing. You don’t want to play the way I want to then I am taking my ball and going home. I use to get a little aggravated when peers or people would say I don’t keep up with politics, but over the last year and a half I understand why that is the case for some people. Now days it is the non-stop blaming game. People can tell you what is wrong with a law or policy but good luck getting them to tell you how to fix it or how it could be improved on.

    Career politicians need to go away. They don’t live in the real world. Few of them have done anything to know what real leadership is or how to even be a leader. Makes me sick and I say slap everyone in Washington and send them home forever!!!!

    END RANT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

