thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

The Correlation Between a Pencil and a Cassette Tape

Leave a comment

Technology never ceases to amaze me.  I realize I’ve written on this topic before, but technology has take over our lives to a point that we don’t know how to function without it.  I can’t count the number of times I’ve said “Google to the rescue.”  With a cellphone, I instantly have the world at my fingertips.  It’s absolutely amazing.

The topic came up during one of my interviews for work, and then again when I got home and I was talking to my husband.  Our children will never know the fear of calling your friend’s house and having their parents answer.  When I was growing up, it was always a game trying to call at a late hour.  You had to stage the phone call before hand so both of you had the phone in hand and could answer it before it fully rang and your parents were awakened to some hoodlum calling at all hours of the night and you were grounded.

Anyone remember looking at an actual paper map?  In fact, when I was working in the mortgage industry, the president of the department asked if I had one for him to look at and I had to try my hardest from laughing.  Map collectors be advised that what you hold may one day be a treasured relic of the past.  Today, we have cellphones.

My children will never understand what it’s like to rewind a VHS tape, or fully grasp the concept of the time spent at the library to complete a research paper.  They seem like little things, but at the end of the day it is life changing.

One of my teachers in high school was Mrs. Peters.  She taught Pre-Cal, and never let us use calculators unless it was necessary.  She always said “no calcu-cheaters.”  Technology makes things so much easier, but we are wasting our time if someone doesn’t fully understand the intent behind it.  The point of a research paper is to fully understand the topic you’re writing about.  It’s not to google a topic, and then Ctrl F to find the cue words to reword sentences to put in your paper.  If you don’t understand the concept of multiplication then your calculator is useless. Thank you Mrs. Peters, I understand.

Thanks to technology, not only do I have a remote that I do not even have to point at the TV to change it, but I can speak to the XBox and it will do as I say, within reason.  OK, it doesn’t really like to listen to me and then I end up shouting at it, but that’s not the point.  I no longer have to lift a finger.

With technology, we also open up our lives to everyone who wants in.  Our privacy is deteriorating piece by piece.  On some phones, it will tell you whether or not the other person has read the text message you sent.  I’m a fairly private person.  Sometimes, I just do not want to respond.  I don’t mean it rudely, if I don’t answer I just don’t want to talk or respond.

What was once nothing interesting, becomes a Facebook post of “Bob is eating a hamburger.”  While it may seem harmless, the world now knows you are eating, and if you say where you are, they may know you’re not home too.

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

