thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

Good is Better, Better is Best

Leave a comment

At a young age, it was instilled in me and my brothers to work hard in everything we do.  Though I may not have been good at something, I was to always do my best.  Fast forward a few years.  I now apply the same philosophy in my work.  In fact, I strive to be the best at what I do, everyday.

Since Thanksgiving, we have been on the hunt for a plumber.  Something simple broke, and instead of fixing it ourselves, we preferred if we had someone else fix it since we are renting.  Let me repeat the timeline here… SINCE THANKSGIVING!

I called the first company.  I’ll omit their name because I think this national franchise has a local issue.  The day we had scheduled him to come out it iced over and snowed.  I figured it would end up cancelled even though the roads were still drivable, but I never received a phone call. I finally called the guy that afternoon to have him say he called me several times and I never answered.  When I told him that I didn’t receive any phone calls he didn’t have an answer.  I understand that human error still happens, so I asked him to verify the number he was calling so that he could get the correct number.  He refused.  He told me he’d call me to reschedule when the weather cleared up.

Two weeks later, I still hadn’t heard from him.  So I called and scheduled an appointment.  I took off of work, and waited.  Living in a small town, I understand that life moves slower and that people are late and it doesn’t warrant a call.  Thirty minutes past our appointment time, I called and he didn’t answer.  I called several times and left several messages.  No answer.  I wasted my entire half-day off waiting on a guy that couldn’t answer the phone.  I called the corporate office and left a message as well as sent an email.

Then, I found another plumber on Google.  I called and scheduled an appointment with him.  Local guy.  One man show.  I’m glad I didn’t take off work because this guy didn’t show up either.  No phone call, and no answer when I called.  Of course.

Forget it if I were to not show up to do my job.  I wouldn’t have one.  But not answering the phone?  I can even understand calling later in the day and saying “oh we’re so sorry we forgot about you,” or “we got busy and couldn’t make it out.”  But seriously not returning my call?  Not so much as a care in the world what that does to your business.  I can’t imagine they make much money if this is what they do all day, every day.  My parents would be livid that I had made them look bad!

Needless to say, I guess I live where good help is hard to find.

“Good, better, best. Never let it rest. Until your good is better and your better is best.” – Tim Duncan

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

