thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

I Want It My Way

Leave a comment

I decided to flashback to a different time the other day on Pandora.  You know you have done it as well; the guilty pleasure of your teenage life.  Yep, I have a Backstreet Boys Pandora station.  Be jealous.

Talk about time traveling to the days of Tomagotchis, zip off pants and saying ‘as if’.

I mean, boy bands made Justin Timberlake famous.  Remember the curls?  Remember the dance to “It’s Gonna Be Me”?  I do, and yes I did the dance while fixing my hair.

But as I’m jamming and belting out the words during my weekday morning, I realized something.  I’ve been brainwashed.

The boy bands of the 1990s and early 2000s must have been sent into the world by some man that decided to give women bad advice about relationships in song lyrics.  That now explains why many girls in my age category are… well.. crazy.

Think about it…

“Oh I will love you more than that
I won’t say the words, then take them back
Don’t give loneliness a chance
Baby listen to me when I say
I will love you more than that” -More Than That, Black and Blue, Backstreet Boys

“Every little thing I do
Never seems enough for you
You don’t wanna lose it again
But I’m not like them
Baby, when you finally,
Get to love somebody
Guess what,
It’s gonna be me” -It’s Gonna Be Me, No Strings Attached, ‘N Sync

“Cuz I want it all
Or nothing at all
There’s nowhere left to fall
When you reach the bottom it’s now or never
Is it all
Or are we just friends
Is this how it ends
With a simple telephone call
You leave me here with nothing at all” -All Or Nothing, O-Town, O-Town

Let’s face it.  No teenage boy ever said these words to his girlfriend.  Thought them?  Yes.  Someone secretly put these lyrics together so that women would act the way that they do in relationships. “He’ll never break my heart or make me cry and he would rather die than live without me.” “Every night he dreams about me, since the day we said goodbye.” “He’ll take me in his arms and hold me right where I belong.”  These are actual song lyrics, by the way.

The lyrics were not written for young men.  The lyrics were written so that girls could think that this is what was really going through mens’ brains.  They were meant to make us crazy, because when a relationship ended, we immediately turned to our boy bands and they sang our sorrows away by making us think that our best guy friend was in love with us, and that our ex secretly wanted us back.

Teenage years… ruined.

I’m going to go drown my sorrows with Nick, Kevin, Justin and J.C.

“‘Cause everytime I breathe
I take you in
And my heart beats again
Baby I can’t help it
You keep me
Drowning in your love
Everytime I try to rise above
I’m swept away by love
Baby I can’t help it
You keep me
Drowning in your love” -Backstreet Boys

RATS!!!

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

