thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

Chicago and All That Jazz

Leave a comment

image

Now imagine me in rain boots, playing tourist.

It’s a cold rainy day in Chicago. And I’m writing from my phone because I can’t get free internet on my laptop.

Life is different in the big city. Those of us from Tulsa and Dallas really don’t know what the big city is like.

Think of your downtown courthouse area. Do you know those buildings that are attached together? Now put a Target or Walmart in one. That’s how the big world operates. There are businesses everywhere.

Now multiply your small town times a million. Now you have a city.

Now imagine me in the middle of Chicago. I’ve been everywhere in the world, but can’t say I’ve been here.

I landed at the airport and decided taking a cab to my hotel was the best option. I figured getting lost on the subway wasn’t a good idea for me with all my luggage.

I estimated an hour trip from the airport to the hotel. Too bad the cabbie drove 85 mph in a 55 mph zone.

Why would he do that you ask? They all do that. It makes perfect business sense. The faster they can get a customer to their destination, the more customers they can drive.

Living in the South I forget that some vehicles in the North don’t have air conditioning. Luckily with the cabbie’s faster speed the crisp air was coming in through the open windows.

When I got to my hotel my first goal was to find food. I walked up and down the street couple of blocks. I found a Subway and a McDonalds.

Yes, I ate at a Subway in Chicago. I was tired of walking and was hungry.

After nice nap, I set out on my journey to find dinner. Why did I nap? Because it was pouring down rain!

Those of you who know me know I’m picky about food. But since I’m on a trip of new experiences, I decided to try pho.

I bundled up. I put on my rain boots. And after 15 minutes of walking in the rain, I discovered the place that I researched and found online was closed.

So as I went back into the rain, I decided I would stop at the first place on the way back to the hotel. Low and behold everything was closed.

I turned the corner to go into the closest entrance to the hotel and noticed a restaurant I hadn’t seen on my way out. Yay pizza!

I ordered the delicious substinance that was my dinner, and learned that my waitress was from Oklahoma. How does that happen?

After training tomorrow I’m determined to try pho. Someone be proud of me. I survived my first day in Chicago.

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

