thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

Lake Effect 2, Southern Girl 1

Leave a comment

image

Remember that time your dad told you he walked to school up hill both ways in snow? Remember how you thought he was a liar?

I was pumped this morning for my Dunkin Donuts coffee. Those of you who know me know my relationship with DD. As I’m walking to my training it begins to pour down rain. Luckily unlike New York I had on rain boots and an umbrella.

I found a Dunkin Donuts about a couple of blocks away from my training center. My pants were completely soaked by the time I left there. I walked away with my wonderful coffee; excited to once again taste the deliciousness that is DD.

On my way to the training center my coffee spilled all over my hands, burning my fingers. But that didn’t stop me. However, Monday was determined to get me.

As I posted up against the wall to experience my coffee, I quickly learned that the lid I had was defective. I then proceeded to spill coffee all down the front of my shirt. Hooray!

So not only am a foreigner in this training class, I also look a hot mess.

Those of you who read yesterday’s coverage know that I decided to try pho for dinner. Now remember, I’m a picky eater. It was gross.

So then I decided the only thing that could make dinner better was ice cream. I passed a Baskin Robbins on my way out so figured I would stop there.

Too bad it’s snowing! I couldn’t make it through the snow and the cold.

Texas and Oklahoma think they know what snow is. Let me tell you about real snow. I have now seen the biggest snowflakes ever. Oh yeah, in April. These things were the size of feathers. What was the worst part? The fact that they cling to your eyelashes so you feel like they’re fake ones.

So I settled and went to Starbucks. The iced vanilla macchiato is tasty. Maybe I can brave the cold tomorrow for some Baskin Robbins.

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

