thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

King to… Former King?

Leave a comment

My goal in life is to retire.  I want to be that old lady in a rocking chair on the front porch, shaking my fist and yelling at hoodlums in my yard.  I aim to do this as soon as possible.  Maybe I’ll even write about it.

Now days it is not unusual to hear of people retiring from any type of work.  The men will talk about fishing and the women… well, the women talk about shopping, sewing and traveling.  But one job doesn’t typically get the honor of retirement.  It is a job for life.

Being a royal is not only a title, but a job.  I realize I do not know this from experience, but I can imagine being required to attend social engagements, keep a respectable reputation and always be on the look out for the family name can not be easy.  Being an introvert I can only imagine the painful task of being in the spotlight day after day for things that should be personal in everyone’s life.

Sure, along with the title comes money and prestige, but I can not see having your private moments broadcast to the world.

It is rare for a monarch to “retire.” Typically the title is for a lifetime, but recently there have been several monarchs abdicate in favor of a younger generation.  These royals haven’t necessarily had a bad reputation on the throne.  I find it interesting that in the past couple of years that so many of stepped down from their duties.

The Spanish King Juan Carlos recently abdicated in favor of his son who is in his 40s.  I think part of the reason we are seeing so many go down this path is because monarchs are not typically the decision making government body any more and are in fact living longer than previous title holders.

Retiring from the throne must be the most difficult and easiest retirement.  I wonder if Queen Elizabeth of England will follow in these footsteps?

I can only hope that my retirement will be this easy.  My only question is what is your title when you retire from King or Queen?

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

