thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

Clawing My Way Back Down Hill Before I’m Over It

Leave a comment

I can remember being six-years-old and feeling like time stood still.  I can remember counting down the months, weeks, days and what seemed like years until I turned seven.  I thought the day would never come, and when it did I savored every moment.  The next day, I couldn’t wait to be eight.  Being eight would be so much better and I would be able to do so many more things.

28 has come and gone, and I somewhat wished it never came.  I wish I could back track.  I am holding on to the twenties with my nails, attempting to claw my way back down the hill of life.  Unfortunately, 30 is a little too close for comfort.

I know.  30 really isn’t that old.  But when did the switch turn from anticipation to dread?  I don’t remember an age where time was just right.

The other day in conversation, the group decided it was somewhere around junior year of high school.  I disagree.  I couldn’t wait to get out of high school.  I couldn’t wait to “grow up” and go to college.

Then I think, it didn’t happen when I went to college.  College was so much fun!  But as the four years went by, I can’t remember ever thinking I wanted time to stop and turn back.  I was very excited to graduate and no longer be subject to tests and professors demands.  I was excited to get out into the real world and start my career.

I think that’s when the switch came; the day that I was officially out on my own after college.  The day that the money disappeared to bills and I was an adult.

Since then, I realized that the grown up world wasn’t all it was cracked up to be and that all I could expect from the future was to age every year.

It’s been a blast and things have changed as the years have gone by.  I’ve enjoyed the years since college.  But since I’ve stomped my way up the hill, time has increased speed and 40 isn’t that far away any more.

Maybe this is why women have an obsession to wear make-up to look young.  Maybe this is why there are myths of the elixir of youth and cosmetic surgery is desired.  The switch turns and we suddenly long for the days that we were running around young and fancy free.

I look forward to the next two years.  Bring on 30.  It’s no 7, but it’s one step closer to retiring and hollering at hoodlums.

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

