thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

There’s a Reason They Call It Happily Ever After

Leave a comment

Recently, I celebrated two years of being married to my best friend. It’s hard for me to believe it’s already been that long, but they say time flies as you get older.

We’ve watched friends date and break up. We’ve watched friends who we didn’t think were meant for each other develop a relationship. We’ve watched friends that we thought were made for forever fade faster than jeans.

My father always said that love was a choice. He said that it wasn’t a fuzzy feeling that you act on, but a constant choice to love a person for forever.

I recently read the ‘Divergent’ series, and one of the characters decides that a loving relationship is the decision to forgive and keep forgiving that person.

I have to say, these beliefs explain my view better than I ever could.

I never said that the decision or choice is easy. Every relationship has its problems, and it’s always about how you get through them together. Randy and I have faced easy and tough decisions; and we’ll face even tougher ones as time goes on, but one thing I can say is that we decide them together and we know that we are both better for that.

I think when you take a step back and acknowledge that love and relationships are constant decisions, it makes understanding relationships easier. I feel our relationship has always been easy. We don’t have to force ourselves into a mold or fight and argue on a daily basis. We just… well, live. It’s like breathing.

I’m sure other couples have their own advice; maybe it’s even better than mine.  But at the end of the day, if you are happy and constantly in love with the person that you come home to every day; then you must be doing something right.

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

