thejessence

The energy of the mind is the essence of life. – Aristotle

New Year’s Kiss of Death

1 Comment

image

Cheers to 2015!

While 90% of the Central Time Zone population puts on their ties, heels and glittering metallic head gear with their first sip of champagne in hand, I’ve taken my alcohol in the form of two tablespoons of cherry Nyquil and will be turning on the third season of Sherlock to crash 10 minutes into it.

What a wonderful Christmas gift I brought back from Texas.

It’s not the first time I’ve rung in the new year sick, and I’m willing to bet it won’t be the last.

As usual I have no resolution to lose weight, workout or be a peaceful person. I have no desire to succumb to the popular convention and will instead conform to the non-conformists views that the media forces Americans to believe that now is the perfect time to start a self-improvement venture.

If resolutions work for you, then congratulations on becoming a better you. A majority of Americans don’t even make it a month down their changed path; though I don’t believe it’s due to a change in desire but a lack of willpower.

Maybe if we were strong minded and knew the direction we wanted to go, then we could reach the end result that is our true goal.

Instead, we’re conned into believing that we don’t need to work to achieve our goals. There’s a quick fix for everything. Just look at our advertising.

When I was young, I was told that advertisements were lies. The Barbie really couldn’t swim and wearing Calvin Klein wasn’t going to make me cool. Whenever I see a commercial I go through a process of thinking, “Wow! I need this,” to, “What am I missing here,” and finally, “Do people really buy this?”

Apparently they do.

So, for those resolving for a life change, those seeking motivation or those who just want to welcome 2015 with a laugh; here is the most truthful commercial I’ve seen.

Weight Watchers, “If You’re Happy”: http://youtu.be/GNPLuSx_06U

Cheers to 2015! Hope it’s all you wish it to be! Have a drink for me!

Author: Jess

Texan by birth, Okie by current address. Journalist who caught the travel bug. I have a healthy dachshund obsession and spend endless hours reading about world history on Wikipedia.

One thought on “New Year’s Kiss of Death

Leave a Reply

